Finger Lakes Summer visits Moro’s Table

August 14, 2010 at 12:20 pm 1 comment

Exterior view, Moro's Table

Street view of Moro's Table

Moro’s Table in Auburn New York is a fabulous new restaurant. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was very attentive.

The menu specializes in seafood, including a selection of sushi, seared rare sushi grade tuna, east and west coast oysters, house smoked salmon and tuna tartar. I enjoyed  the Absolut Peppar Oyster Shooters, which came in shot glasses.  I also enjoyed the Butter Fish & Avocado Roll, and Mussels with Parsley and White Wine.

View from the bar area of Moro's Table

View from the inside of Moro's Table

Other items we enjoyed were a Spicy Tombo Tuna Roll, the Lobster and Seafood Bouillabaisse, and the Beef Brisket Bordelais. There are lots of other great menu items available in small and large servings.

The dessert course included the Pear Tart, a Creme Brulee, and a Nutty Angel Rail, while I enjoyed a delicious port.

I was impressed by the knowledge our waitress had of the menu items. We received complimentary Limoncello between courses because she felt like we were waiting too long.

While we were enjoying our meal, Edward Moro came out to meet us and told us about his previous position as head chef at Mirbeau. He was hoping to open his first restaurant in Skaneateles, and there is an awning with the restaurant’s name on it along the main street, but lease issues forced him to look elsewhere. I expect with the popularity of the 1 East Genesee Street location in Auburn, and the stunning interior, that Moro’s Table will stay in Auburn.

Beautiful colors and paint in the entrance-way

Entrance to Moro's Table

Ed Moro says on his website:  “I always loved to cook.  As soon as I could, I started a 5 year apprenticeship with a Sous Chef, Heintz Huttle, at the Hotel Hershey.  The work was challenging and I had to put in very long hours.  To pass the time, I would imagine someday owning my own restaurant.  I envisioned a small and intimate space that would enable me to cook with local products, come out of the kitchen and get to know my guests.

I worked my way through some of the most beautiful places in the country, including California’s Napa Valley and the Oregon wine country.  Over 10 years ago, I felt ready to take on the role as Executive Chef at a new spa and resort nearby.  I was immediately drawn to the spectacular scenery of the Finger Lakes region.  I remember sitting by the lake sipping coffee when my thoughts of opening my own restaurant were rekindled.  I knew I found the perfect location to put down roots.”

That tells all. Welcome to Auburn. Moro’s Table.

Moro's Table on Urbanspoon

Entry filed under: Auburn, Dining, Owasco Lake. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Barrow Gallery: A Finger Lakes Treasure Finger Lakes Summer Climbs in Grimes Glen, Naples

1 Comment Add your own

  • […] DiVINE Kitchen & Bar prides itself on utilizing fresh products from Seneca County’s many wineries and farms to create its cuisine. Great local beer too. The Clarence has hired the former chef at Mirbeau Inn and Spa. He is also the executive chef and owner of  Moro’s Table in Auburn, Edward Moro. I can’t say enough wonderful stuff about Moro’s Table. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 616 other followers

FIngerlakesSumm


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

